Oscars org adds Marlee Matlin, Jason Reitman to Board of Governors

Actor Marlee Matlin, director Jason Reitman and producer Jason Blum are becoming a member of the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The group that places on the Oscars stated Wednesday that they’re among the many 12 Hollywood professionals who’ve been elected to the board for the primary time. Others becoming a member of embody cinematographer Dion Beebe, casting director Richard Hicks and advertising and public relations government Megan Colligan. 

Each of the academy’s 17 branches are represented by three governors who assist set and information the technique for the academy and handle its monetary well being. Other governors at the moment serving embody Whoopi Goldberg, Ava DuVernay and Rita Wilson. With this election, a majority of the board is feminine and 28 % of members belong to an underrepresented racial or ethnic group. 

The academy, and the board, have been underneath extra scrutiny than typical following the incident during which Will Smith slapped Chris Rock in the course of the Oscars ceremony earlier this yr. Several days later, the board banned Smith from attending the Oscars or another academy occasion for 10 years. 

Image: AP

This article was first revealed in www.republicworld.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here