Janet Mock, Kenya Barris, Sterling Okay. Brown and Viola Davis Accept 2020 AAFCA TV Honors in Virtual Ceremony

Kenya Barris & Janet Mock have been among the many particular honorees at Saturday’s 2020 AAFCA TV Honors ceremony, which celebrated one of the best in leisure on the small display. Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the African American Film Critics Association’s second annual celebration was held just about, with stars like Sterling Okay. Brown, Viola Davis, John Legend and Mindy Kaling accepting their awards from residence.

Barris picked up the Icon Award, introduced by his “#Black-AF” co-star Rashida Jones, joking, “It’s one thing I by no means thought that I’d be in the place to get … so many ideas and questions come to my thoughts, like, ‘How outdated are these individuals really assume I’m? And have they got a unique which means of icon than I do?’”

But, like he does onscreen along with his exhibits “Black-ish,” “Mixed-ish” and “Grown-ish,” in his speech, Barris centered on the cultural relevance of the second and this award, emphasizing how he hopes to “empower completely different voices of all completely different nationalities, ethnicities, and gender to actually proceed to inform their story in a very genuine means” as he enters into the following section of his profession.

“Right now, we live in a time of a number of ache, significantly for African Americans — Black ache. And I feel that in this time, I’ve typically checked out ‘What is the place of comedy? And is that this a spot and a time for comedy?’” Barris mentioned. “Comedy is finest introduced when it comes from ache. It’s the medication that lets you take in, with a spoonful of sugar, what we’ve gone by way of and I feel that as Black individuals it’s what we’ve been finest at doing. And I feel that with the ability to obtain this award from my friends and from my household, throughout this time, is extra impactful to me than it might be ever, and will ever be for me at every other time.”

Like Barris, Mock’s remarks additionally took observe of the present standing of the world in wake of the pandemic and the Black Lives Matter motion. Accepting the Adcolor Breakout Creative Award, Mock centered on TV’s energy in the combat for justice for all marginalized communities.

“As we proceed to wrestle for Black individuals, we should additionally embrace Black trans individuals, Black queer individuals, Black disabled individuals, the entire Black individuals, my individuals,” Mock mentioned. “There are some ways to go about doing this work and I goal to do my half by wielding my pen, my imaginative and prescient and my voice like a weapon in opposition to racism, sexism, transphobia, ableism, and the erasure of Black and indigenous individuals.”

She continued: “I actually imagine that telling our tales is a revolutionary act. Stories have all the time helped me; they’ve all the time been my refuge. I wrote my books, my scripts direct my initiatives solely centered on centering myself in methods no different guide or show had finished earlier than. I create for the lady I as soon as was, longing and looking for herself in the creation of others on display.”

Mock’s award was introduced by “Pose” stars Mj Rodriguez, Angelica Ross and Indya Moore, whereas her “Hollywood” collaborators, stars Jeremy Pope and Laura Harrier have been additionally honored throughout the occasion, sharing the Breakthrough Performers prize.

In some methods, the show served as a preview of the 72nd Annual Emmy Awards with a lot of Emmy nominees concerned in the occasion, together with presenters Octavia Spencer and William James Harper, in addition to winners Leslie Odom Jr. (whose Apple TV plus collection “Central Park” took residence the Best Animated Series prize), Pope and Brown (who took residence the Best Male Performance prize for the second consecutive 12 months).

“The function of Randall has been such an attention-grabbing and fantastic journey for me in my profession, to see him wrestle with the place he belongs, if he’s Black sufficient. If he’s too Black in sure circles for his household, however not Black sufficient when he’s round different African Americans,” Brown mentioned. “And I feel all of us wrestle with that feeling of ‘Where will we belong? How a lot is sufficient?’”

“What are we doing to uplift and assist, our individuals, our race? It’s a query that I requested myself on a regular basis,” he continued. “I can solely characterize myself, however I need you all to know that in representing myself I hope that I do you proud. It is one thing that’s all the time in the forefront of my consciousness, the illustration that I put in entrance of and behind the digicam is one which uplifts, that entertains, that educates and edifies, not simply the human expertise however the black expertise as nicely.”

Actor/comic Aida Rodriguez served because the show’s host, conserving the show shifting whereas honorees & VIP company have been handled to an at-home brunch that includes deliveries by Eugene’s Fisherman and Baked It Myself and cocktails from Diageo, Johnnie Walker Black and Cocktail Courier.

Additional presenters included AAFCA President and Co-Founder Gil Robertson, Oscar-winning director Matthew A. Cherry, Nicco Annan, Tichina Arnold, Omar J. Dorsey, Brandee Evans, Niles Fitch, Kevin Frazier, Tina Lifford, Derek Luke, Simone Missick, Sheryl Lee Ralph, whereas Abby Dobson carried out a particular model of “Lift Every Voice and Sing” to kick off this system. The full vary of frontline staff and group leaders who took half in the ceremony have been have been GA Congressman Hank Johnson, Montgomery Alabama’s Mayor Steven Reed, NBCLA’s Beverly White, Reverend Jamal Bryant, nurse Cherelle Barsdale, Dr. Ala Stanford, Tanya Riers, Quentin Curtis and Dr. Christopher Emdim.

Proceeds from the 2020 AAFCA TV Honors introduced by Morgan Stanley profit NABJ COVID-19 Relief Fund & A&E Committee.


The full record of honorees follows and to view the complete award ceremony, watch the video above.

2020 AAFCA TV Honors Award Recipients:

TV Icon – Kenya Barris

Inclusion Award – MACRO Television Studios

Best Actress – Viola Davis, “How To Get Away With Murder” (ABC)

Best Actor – Sterling Okay. Brown, “This is Us” (NBC)

Best Drama – “For Life” (ABC)

Best Comedy – “Insecure” (HBO)

Best TV Movie – “The Clark Sisters: First Ladies of Gospel” (Lifetime)

Breakout Performers – Jeremy Pope / Laura Harrier, “Hollywood” (Netflix)

Best YA – “Never Have I Ever” (Netflix)

Best Animated – “Central Park” (Apple TV plus)

Best Documentary – “Atlanta’s Missing and Murdered: The Lost Children” (HBO) and “The Last Dance (ESPN Films/Netflix)

Best Short Form – “I Promise” (Quibi)

Source selection.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here