How Long Is the Oscars 2021? When Does It Start & End?

Movies’ largest night time is lastly right here as The 93rd Oscars is ready to air tonight on ABC. The stay broadcast will start at 8 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. PDT and final for 3 hours, ending at 11 p.m. EDT/8 p.m. PDT.

Aside from the delayed airdate, this yr’s show will look somewhat completely different amid the coronavirus pandemic- together with being held at two venues. In addition to its regular house at the Dolby Theater, it would additionally happen at Union Station in Los Angeles.

The Oscars‘ producers, Jesse Collins, Stacey Sher and Steven Soderbergh introduced Glenn Weiss would function the reveals’ director. “Our plan is that this yr’s telecast will appear like a film not a tv show, and Glenn has embraced this strategy and give you concepts of his personal on how you can obtain this,” they said in a press release. “We’re thrilled to have him as a part of the mind belief.”

Here’s what it’s good to know:


The Show Has Been Capped at 3 Hours Since 2018

This yr’s show will final for 3 hours, a development that began in 2018. At the time, The Academy of Motion Pictures announced changes on Twitter, together with, “We’re planning a extra globally accessible, three-hour telecast.”

This is a stark distinction from the first ceremony in 1929 which ran for quarter-hour, according to DidYouKnow.org. They additionally logged the longest show as 4 hours and 16 minutes in 2000.


ABC Will Air ‘Oscars’ Programming Throughout the Day

Leading as much as The Oscars, ABC will be airing additional programming.

The Oscars Countdown, Live! will probably be “Highlighting the transformative yr in Hollywood at Los Angeles’ Union Station, together with the spectacular careers of the nominees and a particular tribute to greatest actor nominee Chadwick Boseman.” Hosted by ABC’s Chris Connelly and Janai Norman, the three-hour particular will air from 1- 4 p.m. EDT/10 a.m. – 1 p.m. PDT.

The direct lead-in to the awards show is Oscars: Into the Spotlight hosted by Ariana DeBose and Lil Rel Howery and that includes an look by DJ Tara. According to ABC’s description of the occasion, “Celeste, H.E.R., Leslie Odom Jr., Laura Pausini, Daniel Pemberton, Molly Sandén and Diane Warren carry out Oscar-nominated unique songs.”

This yr’s broadcast can even be adopted up by the hour-long particular, Oscars: After Dark hosted by Colman Domingo and Andrew Rannells. It can even function movie critic Elvis Mitchell, for “a recap of the night’s must-see moments.”

E! can even function pre-Oscar specials all through the day, beginning at 3 p.m. EDT/12 p.m. PDT.


This is the First ‘Oscars’ With Audio Descriptions for the Blind

Not solely will The Oscars function closed captioning for viewers who’re deaf or laborious of listening to, however for the first time in the award show’s historical past, audio descriptions will probably be out there for blind or low imaginative and prescient audiences.

Google is sponsoring these accessibility lodging as part of “the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ efforts to broaden entry to The 93rd Oscars,” ABC announced in a press release.

“Google is dedicated to creating the world a extra accessible place by working to make sure disabled persons are represented in the tales we inform and the merchandise we construct,” the press launch quoted KR Liu, head of Brand Accessibility. “We are excited to do our half in making this yr’s Oscars accessible for everybody by serving to to make audio descriptions and captions out there for viewers.”

This yr’s show will probably be accessed in additional than 200 international locations and territories.



supply: https://heavy.com/leisure/how-long-is-oscars-2021-ends-starts/

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here