Here’s what happens to your WhatsApp account if you don’t agree to privacy changes by May 15

WhatsApp is updating its privacy insurance policies, and if you don’t agree to the changes by May 15, you’ll see some limitations on your account.

“For a short while, you’ll find a way to obtain calls and notifications, however will not find a way to learn or ship messages from the app,” the Facebook-owned messaging service warns.

You’ll nonetheless find a way to settle for the changes after that date, however the firm’s coverage on inactive accounts will apply as ordinary, which means you might see your account deleted after 120 days of nonuse.

The privacy replace is controversial because it includes sharing some knowledge, resembling your cellphone quantity, IP handle, and “info on how you work together with others” with WhatsApp dad or mum Facebook.

If you don’t like the brand new privacy coverage and easily need to be finished with WhatsApp, you would possibly need to export your settings and chat historical past from the app so you don’t lose them. To export your settings and account info, go to the (*15*) menu and faucet Account, then Request account data.

To get your precise messages exported from the app, use the app’s manual backup characteristic, obtainable on each iPhone and Android. Messages usually are simply saved within the app, not on WhatsApp’s servers, so ensure that to run the export earlier than you get a brand new cellphone.

The submit Here’s what happens to your WhatsApp account if you don’t agree to privacy changes by May 15 appeared first on Fast Company.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here