With coronavirus cases rising in each different state, Hawaii stands alone with a gradual decline in new cases in November.
Hawaii is averaging 80 cases per day on its assortment of islands, a lower of a couple of quarter from two weeks earlier. Hospitalizations have fallen by the same quantity.
So how has Hawaii managed to maintain its caseload in examine?
“Being surrounded by ocean has helped,” mentioned Brooks Baehr, a spokesman for the Hawaii State Department of Health. “Hawaii has extra management over interstate and worldwide journey than different states.”
The latest decline in Hawaii cases has come amid an inflow of a number of thousand extra each day guests since the authorities eliminated a 14-day quarantine requirement for journey to the state in mid-October. Rather than quarantining, everybody getting into Hawaii should now get hold of a unfavorable check consequence from a verified lab in the 72 hours earlier than arriving.
The restrictions have helped sluggish the travel-related charges of the coronavirus — most cases are from group unfold — however they’ve come at a steep value. Hawaii’s tourism business, which accounts for 21 p.c of the state’s complete economic system, has all however come to a standstill. In the first 9 months of 2020, visitor arrivals were down 71.6 percent in contrast with the identical interval a 12 months in the past.
For residents, this meant many companies closed and jobs misplaced. In the notably fraught seven-week interval between late March and early May, new unemployment claims averaged greater than 30,000 per week; the identical interval in 2019 had a weekly common of round 1,200.
With cases exploding throughout the mainland and in different components of the world, Hawaii is as soon as once more bolstering its protections.
Starting Tuesday, if an inbound air traveler’s unfavorable check consequence is not obtainable earlier than boarding — even when that is due to a laboratory delay, as has typically been the case currently — a quarantine turns into obligatory.
Also final week, Gov. David Ige issued the first statewide mask mandate, which requires everybody over age 5 to put on a face masking in public or threat penalties that embody a $5,000 fantastic or as much as a 12 months in jail.